Engelszell Abbey

Engelszell Abbey

Founded in 1293, the abbey is the only Trappist monastery in Austria and has a very eventful history. Bishop Bernhard (Wernhart) von Prambach founded the abbey in 1293, and it was inhabited by Cistercian orders in 1295. Considered the daughter monastery of Wilhering Abbey, Engelszell thus belonged to the filiation of Morimond, the primary abbey. Engelszell Abbey Church (built between 1754 and 1764) is an impressive church in the rococo style. It is crowned by a 76-m tower and features noteworthy works of art by Johann Georg Üblhör, Joseph Deutschmann and Bartolomeo Altomonte. Today, the only Trappist monastery in Austria is known for the liqueurs distilled here, Engelszell Trappist cheese and its new Trappist beer, which has been brewed in Engelszell Abbey since spring 2012 – something that’s unique within Austria. Its tipples include Gregorius, Benno and Nivard.

StiftskircheEngelszell_OÖ_2016©strassederkaiserundkoenige.com_KP Hausberg
Contact

Stift Engelszell
Stiftstraße 6
4090 Engelhartszell an der Donau
Phone: +43 7717 8010
pforte@stift-engelszell.at