The monastery was founded in 1146. Following a fire in 1733, the church was rebuilt into the most noteworthy rococo church in Austria. The 850-year-old Cistercian monastery influenced the community in many ways. The interior of the building plays a significant role in the abbey’s prestige and is particularly effective thanks to its decoration, which exceptionally diverse, colourful, picturesque, figurative and ornamental, as well as its carefully considered use of natural light.
The monastery houses a museum, which sees itself as a place of rest and reflection and covers seven themes: History, the spirituality of the Cistercians and their tasks today, and personalities of the monastery, such as Balduin Sulzer and Fritz Fröhlich. Various interactions offer an entertaining tour also for the younger visitors.
Guided tours of the monastery are offered, and a café and museum store invite visitors to linger and browse. The garden can also be visited, with a baroque pavilion and a palm house from the Biedermeier period, as well as an educational tree trail.
Linzer Straße 4
Phone: +43 7226 2311-12